A Faint Cold Fear
Karin Slaughter
book reviews:
· general fiction
· chick lit/romance
· sci-fi/fantasy
· graphic novels
· nonfiction
· audio books

Click here for the curledup.com RSS Feed

· author interviews
· children's books @
   curledupkids.com
· DVD reviews @
   curledupdvd.com

newsletter
win books
buy online
links

home

for authors
& publishers


for reviewers

click here to learn more




Buy *A Faint Cold Fear* online

A Faint Cold Fear
Karin Slaughter
HarperTorch
Paperback
437 pages
July 2004
rated 4 of 5 possible stars

buy this book now or browse millions of other great products at amazon.com

previous reviewnext review

Fans of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs have probably already discovered relatively new talent Karin Slaughter. If they havenít, they might find themselves hooked by the third book in her series about Grant County, Georgia, A Faint Cold Fear, and find themselves looking forward to reading the previous novels from this expert writer of taut, blood-smeared mysteries.

Slaughterís cast of characters is a damaged one. Thereís Sara Linton, the local medical examiner who is still trying to put her life back together after her husband, police chief Jeffrey Tolliver, cheated on her five years ago, resulting in their divorce. Although they are dating again, Sara and Jeffrey still have a lot to rectify before they can be together. Their situation becomes much more complicated when a local student is found, an apparent suicide, and Saraís sister Tess is stabbed while Sara investigates the scene of the crime. As Sara and Jeffrey are in turmoil over Tessís condition, another student is found dead. Although she also appears to have killed herself, further investigation unveils that hers was a staged murder, casting doubt on the first suicide as well.

Add into the mix a chauvinistic campus security guard, an ex-cop whose life has been falling apart since her recent violent rape and kidnapping, a white supremacist who is trying to clean up his act and many, many more struggling characters, and youíve got a volatile cast that fits in perfectly with Slaughterís dark, humorless style of writing. Like Cornwell, Slaughter feels no need to inject levity into her novel, and each chapter is more bleak and twisted than the last, especially the chapters involving the ex-cop and her miserable life.

Slaughterís mystery is a good one, and itís likely that youíll be guessing until the last chapter (or even the last page) about the outcome. The characters are also well-drawn, but will probably be more complete for those who have started the series at the beginning. Although itís difficult to like most of the characters for their many faults, most will at least be able to identify with Sara and her family, giving them at least one sympathetic heroine to relate to.

Readers who enjoy thrillers with a very graphic and detailed medical slant will probably find another favorite in Karin Slaughterís Grant County novels. Though A Faint Cold Fear stands well on its own, readers will probably be most satisfied if they begin with Blindsighted and Kisscut before attempting it.



Originally published on Curled Up With A Good Book at www.curledup.com. © Angela McQuay, 2004

Also by Karin Slaughter:

buy *A Faint Cold Fear* online
click here for more info
Click here to learn more about this month's sponsor!


fiction · sf/f · comic books · nonfiction · audio
newsletter · free book contest · buy books online
review index · links · · authors & publishers
reviewers

site by ELBO Computing Resources, Inc.