Captain Freedom
G. Xavier Robillard
book reviews:
· general fiction
· chick lit/romance
· sci-fi/fantasy
· graphic novels
· nonfiction
· audio books

Click here for the curledup.com RSS Feed

· author interviews
· children's books @
   curledupkids.com
· DVD reviews @
   curledupdvd.com

newsletter
win books
buy online
links

home

for authors
& publishers


for reviewers

click here to learn more




Buy *Captain Freedom: A Superhero's Quest for Truth, Justice, and the Celebrity He So Richly Deserves* by G. Xavier Robillard online

Captain Freedom: A Superhero's Quest for Truth, Justice, and the Celebrity He So Richly Deserves
G. Xavier Robillard
Harper
Paperback
272 pages
February 2009
rated 4 of 5 possible stars

buy this book now or browse millions of other great products at amazon.com
previous reviewnext review

Have no fear, Captain Freedom is here! Or maybe you should have plenty of fear.

G. Xavier Robillardís debut novel, Captain Freedom, is a hilarious satire that plays on superheroes, villains, politics, celebrity, and just about everything else in between.

Captain Freedom, AKA Tzad Friedman, is part hero, part failed celebrity. The book details Freedomís pseudo-autobiography, from his school days in a boot camp for heroes-to-be to his days fighting enemies with names like the Velvet Fog and Enfant Terrible and saving the world for the twentieth time for no pay and barely any recognition.

The book plays savage satire on superheroes and comics. Fans of Marvel and DC comic characters and the rest will get a laugh out of the superhero conventions that Robillard mocks, like superhero origins and the fact that for a long time - gasp! - Captain Freedom doesnít have one. Sidekicks are also played for laughs, particularly with Freedomís more mature companion, D.J., whose relationship with Freedom may remind readers of another well-known Dynamic Duo. Some of the funniest scenes are when Freedom searches for his arch-enemy. Looking through a hero/villain online match-up is a running gag that plays to a great conclusion when his arch-enemy is finally revealed.

Besides superheroes, Captain Freedom is a parody of celebrity and the lengths to which people go to prolong their 15 minutes of fame. When his fame as a superhero ends even though he has a very public stint in rehab, Captain Freedom tries various ways of getting known, from launching his own fashion line, to making a Captain Freedom movie, to running for governor of California. Captain Freedom at times seems less like a Superman and more like a writhing prima donna waiting for the next big comeback.

Fans of superhero parody movies like The Incredibles will get a chuckle out of this book, but just about anyone will find much to smile and laugh at through this story of a superheroís desire to bring his glory days back.



Originally published on Curled Up With A Good Book at www.curledup.com. © Sara Porter, 2009

buy *Captain Freedom: A Superhero's Quest for Truth, Justice, and the Celebrity He So Richly Deserves* online
click here for more info
Click here to learn more about this month's sponsor!


fiction · sf/f · comic books · nonfiction · audio
newsletter · free book contest · buy books online
review index · links · · authors & publishers
reviewers

site by ELBO Computing Resources, Inc.